GAZ DE COMBUSTION ET MERCURE : LE DÉFI

L’incinération de déchets est une technique très courante dans de nombreux pays industrialisés. Il en découle aussi des méthodes de récupération d’énergie. Néanmoins, la gestion d’un incinérateur doit respecter de strictes réglementations sur l’environnement. Les incinérateurs qui traitent les déchets hospitaliers dangereux ont à leur disposition toute une gamme de charbons actifs EcoSorb™. Il sont spécialement conçus pour adsorber des composants indésirables, présents dans l’air, et qui proviennent des gaz de combustion.

Applications et solutions

applications pour gaz de combustion et mercure.

Incinérateurs de déchets dangereux

L’incinération à température élevée est considérée comme la méthode la plus sûre pour détruire divers déchets dangereux générés par les traitements industriels. L’accréditation et la réglementation sur les incinérateurs de déchets dangereux sont soumises à des contrôles stricts, avec un faible nombre de traitements à grande échelle. Les déchets dangereux seront souvent difficiles à brûler, ils nécessitent un volume de gaz de combustion très important compte tenu de la quantité de déchets incinérés. Ces déchets, devant être traités avec du charbon actif proviennent des liquides halogènes brûlés (émission de dioxines), des thermomètres et équipement électrique  (mercure). Les dosages vont généralement de 100 à 200 mg/Nm3 pour une température de 250C. La composition de ces déchets, très divers, rend cette opération difficile à réaliser. Outre nos charbons actifs standards (gammes EcoSorbTM XP en poudre pour l’Europe et l’Asie, AddSorb VQN en charbons extrudés et en granulés), Jacobi a créé deux produits très spécifiques (EcoSorb™ QS Advanta, adjuvant liquide et AddSorb™ VQN, un charbon imprégné pour l’élimination simultanée de mercure ionique et élémentaire.

Incinérateurs de déchets hospitaliers

Les hôpitaux modernes génèrent une quantité importante de déchets chimiques et biologiques dangereux . Pour se débarrasser en toute sécurité de ces déchets, optimiser la récupération de la chaleur et minimiser l’impact sur l’environnement, beaucoup de grands hôpitaux effectuent ces opérations avec des incinérateurs sur site. Comme pour les unités d’incinération industrielle, le gaz de combustion devra être traité avant d’être rejeté dans l’atmosphère. Les déchets proviennent des matières plastiques brûlées (dioxines), thermomètres, et piles (mercure). Les concentrations de mercure sont en général très élevées  Les dosages vont de 100 à 300 mg/Nm3 pour des températures de 130 à 180C.  Jacobi propose deux marques standards (EcoSorb™ XP en poudre pour l’Europe et l’Asie, et AddSorb™ VQ en charbons extrudés et en granulés pour le monde entier) et des produits très spécifiques (EcoSorb™ QS Advanta, adjuvant liquide et AddSorb™ VQN, un charbon imprégné, conçus pour éliminer simultanément le mercure ionique et élémentaire).

Waste to Energy

Des températures d’incinération élevées sont utilisées pour traiter les déchets solides, avec une énergie récupérée utilisée pour préchauffer l’eau d’alimentation des chaudières et fournir un chauffage urbain local. La purification des gaz de combustion comprend une mise à température correcte suivie d’une adsorption sèche. Les contaminants nécessitant une adsorption proviennent des matières plastiques brûlées (émissions de dioxines) et des piles (émissions de mercure). En général, les concentrations de polluants sont relativement faibles, et les dosages vont de 30 à 50 mg/Nm3 pour une température de 130C. Outre nos charbons actifs standards (gammes EcoSorbTM XP en poudre pour l’Europe et l’Asie, AddSorb VQ en charbons extrudés et en granulés), Jacobi a créé deux produits très spécifiques, EcoSorb™ QS Advanta, adjuvant liquide et AddSorb™ VQN, un charbon imprégné, conçus pour éliminer simultanément le mercure ionique et élémentaire).

Type d’incinérateur Taille de l’installation Source de contamination Dosage type (mg/Nm3) Température du gaz (deg. C) Notes
Dangereux Grand Liquides halogénés (Dioxines), Thermomètres/Équipement électrique (Mercure) 100-200 250
  • Composition de flux très variable / concentration
Clinique Petit Instruments médicaux en plastique (Dioxines),Thermomètres/Piles (Mercure) 100-300 130-180
  • Très haute concentration en mercure
  • Ajout de chaux pour gaz acide
Gaspillage énergétique Très important Matières plastiques (Dioxines), piles (Mercure) 30-50 130
  • Faibles concentrations
  • Ajout de chaux pour gaz acide

Outre nos charbons actifs standards (gammes EcoSorbTM XP en poudre pour l’Europe et l’Asie, AddSorb VQ en charbons extrudés et en granulés), Jacobi a créé deux produits très spécifiques pour l’élimination simultanée de mercure ionique et élémentaire :

  • EcoSorb QS-Advanta – adjuvant liquide, peut être injecté dans les solutions d’épuration ou dans les flux gazeux
  • AddSorb VQN – charbon imprégné en poudre et QS-Advanta pour injection à sec dans les gaz de combustion

Ces deux produits immobilisent ces deux formes de mercure en sulfure de mercure (HgS).  Ce sel de mercure est extrêmement stable, sans danger, et non soluble, sans émissions dans l’atmosphère, un déchet solide dont on peut se débarrasser facilement et à moindre coût.

Pour plus d’informations sur l’utilisation de nos produits pour des applications sur les gaz de combustion et le mercure, veuillez contacter notre service clientèle.

FLUE GAS & MERCURY: THE CHALLENGE
In many industrialized nations it is common practice to use incineration methods for waste disposal. There are also ways to recover energy from the process. However, operating an incinerator requires strict adherence to environmental regulations. Hazardous, clinical and waste to energy incinerators can benefit from our EcoSorb™ range of activated carbon. Specially designed to adsorb unwelcome airborne compounds from flue gases.

Applications and Solutions

for flue gas and mercury applications.

Hazardous Waste Incinerators

High temperature incineration is widely recognised as the most environmentally acceptable method of destroying various hazardous wastes generated in industrial processes. The licensing and regulation of hazardous waste incinerators is stringently controlled, resulting in a small number of large scale operations.  Hazardous waste will often be difficult to burn, requiring a high flue gas volume relative to the quantity of waste being incinerated.  Contamination requiring powdered carbon treatment results from the burning of liquid halogens (producing dioxins), thermometers and electrical equipment (mercury). Typical PAC dosages range from 100-200 mg/Nm3 at temperatures as high as 250C. The highly variable stream composition presents a treatment challenge in this application.  Jacobi offers both standard grades (EcoSorb™ XP series powdered carbons in the Europe and Asia regions, and AddSorb™ VQ series extruded and granular carbons worldwide) and premium materials (EcoSorb™ QS Advanta liquid phase additive and AddSorb™ VQN impregnated carbon, both designed for the simultaneous removal of both ionic and elemental mercury) for this application.

Clinical Waste Incinerators

Modern hospitals generate a substantial quantity of chemical and bio-hazardous wastes. In order to safely dispose of these materials, maximise heat recovery and minimize environmental impact, many larger hospitals operate on-site incineration plants. In common with industrial incineration units the flue gas will require treatment before being discharged to atmosphere.  Contamination requiring carbon treatment results from the burning of plastics (resulting in dioxins), thermometers, and batteries (resulting in mercury).  Mercury concentrations in this application tend to be very high.  PAC dosages typically range from 100-300 mg/Nm3 at temperatures of 130-180C.  Jacobi offers both standard grades (EcoSorb™ XP series powdered carbons in the Europe and Asia regions, and AddSorb™ VQ series extruded and granular carbons worldwide) and premium materials (EcoSorb™ QS Advanta liquid phase additive and AddSorb™ VQN impregnated carbon, both designed for the simultaneous removal of both ionic and elemental mercury) for this application.

Waste to Energy

High temperature incineration is used to dispose of domestic solid wastes, with the recovered energy used to preheat boiler feed water and provide district heating for the local area. Purification of the flue gas involves cooling to the correct temperature followed by dry adsorption.  Contaminants requiring carbon adsorption result from the burning of plastics (emitting dioxins) and batteries (emitting mercury).  Generally, the contaminant concentrations in these applications are relatively low, and PAC dosages typically range from 30-50 mg/Nm3 at typical gas temperatures of 130C.  Jacobi offers both standard grades (EcoSorb™ XP series powdered carbons in the Europe and Asia regions, and AddSorb™ VQ series extruded and granular carbons worldwide) and premium materials (EcoSorb™ QS Advanta liquid phase additive and AddSorb™ VQN impregnated carbon, both designed for the simultaneous removal of both ionic and elemental mercury) for this application.

Incinerator Type Scale of Plant Source of Contamination Typical PAC Dosage (mg/Nm3) Gas Temperature (deg. C) Notes
Hazardous Large Liquid Halogens (Dioxins), Thermometers/Electrical Equipment (Mercury) 100-200 250
  • Highly variable stream composition / concentration
Clinical Small Plastic medical instruments (Dioxins), Thermometers/Batteries (Mercury) 100-300 130-180
  • Very high mercury concentration
  • Lime added for acid gas
Waste to Energy Very Large Plastics (Dioxins), Batteries (Mercury) 30-50 130
  • Generally low concentrations
  • Lime added for acid gas

In addition to our standard activated carbons (including EcoSorbTM XP series powdered carbons in the Europe and Asia regions, and AddSorb VQ Series extruded and granular carbons), Jacobi has developed two premium products for the simultaneous removal of both ionic and elemental mercury:

  • EcoSorb QS-Advanta – liquid phase additive, which can be injected into scrubber solutions or flue gas streams
  • AddSorb VQN – powdered carbon impregnated with QS-Advanta for dry injection into the flue gas

Both of these products immobilize both forms of mercury as mercuric sulfide (HgS).  This mercury salt is extremely stable, non-hazardous, and insoluble, preventing it from being reemitted to the atmosphere and providing for safe, economic disposal as a solid waste.

For more information on how Jacobi products are used for flue gas and mercury applications please get in touch and our team will be on hand to assist.